: cs@britishcitizenshiptest.co.uk

UK Government Structure






Copy Link

The British Government is more commonly known as ‘Her Majesty’s Government.’ The British Government is a constitutional monarchy. The head of the state is Queen Elizabeth II. There are fifteen other CommonWealth Countries that are also within the realm of the United Kingdom. The head of the government will still be the Prime Minister.

The area of the United Kingdom includes England, Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland.

The United Kingdom Constitution

The UK is a part of a small group of countries (three) that have uncodified constitutions. This means that the constitution of the United Kingdom consists mainly of international treaties, judge-made case laws and of course, statutes. The government can make laws or reform them by relatively easy routes and the only restriction on them is that no law cannot be changed by any future parliament.

The British Cabinet

The British Cabinet is selected by the Prime Minister but is only done so in consultation with the Monarchic head - the Queen. When ministers are sworn in to the house of commons, where they will hold their duty, they are converted into ministers of the crown. Elections to the house of commons are from 650 different constituencies.

Political Parties

There are three predominant political parties in the United Kingdom. They are:

  • The Conservative Party
  • The Labour Party
  • The Liberal-Democrats

Between themselves, they have secured themselves 622 out of 650 seats in the Britain’s House of Commons. This happened during the 2010 General Elections.

The Conservative Party

Their original name is ‘The conservative and unionist party’ but are more commonly known as just the Conservative Party. They adhere mainly to a center-right philosophy. That philosophy primarily caters to the ideologies of British-union and of conservatism. The leader of this party - David Cameron, is the current leader of the nation. He is the current Prime Minister. It is the most successful party in the United Kingdom as of today and is currently holding the cabinet. They are holding it with a coalition government with the Liberal-Democrats.

The Labour Party

The labour party is also known as the new labour. They are a party that adheres to a primarily center-left philosophy, as opposed to the conservative party. The labour party was the last party that has held the cabinet before the 2010 General Elections. The labour party was led by ex-Prime Minister Tony Blair, and later by ex-Prime Minister Gordon Brown. The current leader for the party is Ed Milliband MP. This party is also an active member of ‘Socialist International.’

The Liberal-Democrats

The Liberal-Democrats are popularly shortened to be known as lib-dems. They are a ‘center to center-left social liberal’ active political party. Today, they are a part of a coalition government with the Conservative Party and hold the maximum number of seats in the ministry. This party originated with two other parties came together: The Liberal Party and The Social Democratic party, in 1988.

  • any place that an immigration office may use to conduct his duties
  • any airport in the United Kingdom
  • in a specifically allocated control zone or any 'supplementary control zone'
  • any designated holding facility that is short-term in nature
  • police stations
  • any hospital in the UK
  • a young offender institution
  • remand center or prison
  • Campsfield House Immigration Removal Centre
  • Tinsley House Immigration Removal Centre
  • Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
  • Oakington Reception Centre
  • Harmondsworth Immigration Removal Centre
  • Yarl's Wood Immigration Removal Centre
  • Dungavel House Immigration Removal Centre
  • Lindholme Immigration Removal Centre
  • Haslar Immigration Removal Centre
  • Dover Immigration Removal Centre
  • Colnbrook Immigration Removal Centre
  • Brook House Immigration Removal Centre
  • Any mobile detention facility that may be a vehicle and is adapt for that use

When this particular act was brought in, the Immigration Direction 2008 (Places of Detention) Act was revoked